top of page

DIY Oatmeal & Coconut Scrub for Eczema

Have you ever tried a recipe, not sure if it would work or not? Well, that is what happened when I tried an oatmeal bath with my daughter Chosen for the first time.





I began researching ways to decrease the itching and rash associated with having eczema. I tried two store bought products but that was it, after a friend gave me a concoction of raw shea butter and organic coconut oil. It worked like a charm to clear it up. However, she was still getting outbreaks, one patch would go away while another patch would appear. It began to get nerve racking.


So, I tried an oatmeal bath by grinding up oatmeal in a blender to powder form, which was supposed to dissolve in the water, well that didn't work at all. The tub was filled with oatmeal, I was never trying that again.


Benefits of Oatmeal on the Skin:


#1: Dry skin quencher

#2: Itchy skin reliever

#3: Gentle exfoliator

#4: Moisture locker

#5: Skin protectant

#6: Deeply cleansing

#7: Suits all skin types

#8: Improves the complexion





I did however want to get to the bottom of what was the cause of the outbreaks, so I looked up what foods could be causing the flare ups;


Eczema Triggering Foods

  • citrus fruits.

  • dairy.

  • eggs.

  • gluten or wheat.

  • soy.

  • spices, such as vanilla, cloves, and cinnamon.

  • tomatoes.

  • some types of nuts.

Chosen loves mandarin oranges and drinks a lot of milk. So I reduced the amount of oranges I gave her with meals and cut milk and dairy out of her diet completely.


Other Eczema Triggers;

  • Cold air. ...

  • Hot weather. ...

  • Exposure to water. ...

  • Stress and anxiety. ...

  • Detergent. ...

  • Scented products. ...

  • Fabrics.

I only use plant based laundry detergent or free and clear detergent on her cloths. Her clothes are also washed twice and not washed with anyone else's in our house.


I began researching if a scrub would help soften her skin and aid in the clearing of her skin. I found several recipes for all natural scrubs designed for toddlers. One that stood out was a oatmeal scrub, however it contained sugar so I removed that.


I only used two ingredients; Organic Coconut Oil & Oatmeal!!


Coconut Oil & Oatmeal Scrub


1 Cup - Oats

1 1/4 Cup - Organic Coconut Oil


Add melted coconut oil in bowl

Blend oatmeal into a fine powder. This can be done with a food processor or blender.

Combine oatmeal with coconut oil and stir.

Waalah!




I use this scrub on her 2-3 times per week, along with SheaMoisture 100% Organic Coconut Oil body wash, followed by the concoction of raw shea butter and coconut oil and diet restrictions and have noticed a great improvement.


I actually began using it on myself, as it helps with color discoloration as well.


Let me know if you tried it and how it worked for you!








45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page