top of page

Festival Interview - Bonni Korcok Designs Wearable Art

Conformity is boring. Nobody embodies that statement more strongly than Bonni Korcok. She zigs when everyone else zags and ensures her well-being through nontraditional means of creativity. Here is the conversation that she enthralled us with at the 3rd annual Food & Wine Festival in Columbus, Ohio.


TWL: Hi Bonni! What are you all about?


Bonni: I am all about making really neat cover ups on all varieties of fabrics via GoFlutterbye Boutique.


TWL: Where did you get your start?


Bonni: I’ve always upcycled clothes particularly back in high school in Akron, Ohio. Everyone thought I was a little strange. Then my dad saw that when we went to California everyone was offering to buy the clothes off of my back. So he bought me a sewing machine.

“I was looking to be an entrepreneur and they say fail fast. Find one thing after another. So I did that and it started to evolve.”

I make these tops out of a variety of fabrics. The most unusual fabrics are upcycled wedding veils from India. Now, I get to travel all over. I go as far west as St. Louis and do a lot of events.


TWL: So who’s looking strange now?


Bonni: I know! I started it all with the same sewing machine my Dad gave me as a high school presents.

 

TWL: That’s amazing. So what is your most popular item?


Bonni: They are all versions of the same design. Small or large you can wear them a variety of ways. It’s really 50/50 between the modern fabrics and the vintage fabrics.

TWL: Looking around at these you can tell they are multipurposed. You could wear them as a shawl, you could wear them as a scarf you could even wear them as a headdress if you wanted.


Bonni: You could even wear them like a skirt! I also make belts. The belts enhances and changes the look for each outfit.

TWL: How did you find out about this event today? What is your relationship with Trish like?


Bonni: Trish is fantastic, I enjoy being apart of this.

“I’ve moved 60-some times in my life. I call Columbus my hometown because it is like a little America. At all times the population is equal because the variety of people and ethnicities match the whole United States.”

TWL: What events do you have upcoming?


Bonni: The food truck festival at the Franklin County Fairgrounds in Columbus with 50 vendors on the weekend of August 20th.

 

TWL: What advice would you give to young people who are looking for a creative outlet to get their hands busy?


Bonni: Do what inspires you. Hang out around people that have those skills already. Whether you go to school or not doesn’t matter. Find something that you like to do. Also, listen to feedback from your customers.




bottom of page