top of page

Meet your Goals for Success with Ashley Cole

Updated: Apr 25, 2022


As a minority businesswoman, getting your foot in the door can be challenging. Every time someone tells you "no," it's hard not to take it personally. However, no matter what they say to you, there is a place where you are wanted and needed and will succeed. You have to find the right person to tell you "yes."


The Wright Life Blog had a sit down with Ashley Cole, who's passionate about helping minority women find their path and succeed. Read on to find out how she’s helping women achieve their dreams.


How long have You been in business?

H E R Gov Solutions is a brand new start-up!


How do you begin each day?

In the mornings, I meditate, pray, say my affirmations and begin my tasks for the day.


Name three (3) things that set you apart as an entrepreneur?

The discipline I’ve learned in the military, my upbringing, and my devotion to self-development.



Who inspires you?

Beyonce Knowles because of her unique business acumen, eye for excellence, and work ethic.

My ancestors.


What Motivates you?

Providing scholarship, the desire and passion for wanting to continue to add to my family's legacy.


How did you know you had the skill to venture into this business?

The Military showed me I had the ability and required me to develop skill sets that are parallel and basic in business. That development gave me a good foundation for my niche industry.



What is one thing you love about your business?

I love that I can help minority women business owners learn how to add GovCon business expansion to their skillset. It's exciting because it's still untapped. I'd love to see them show up fully in this space confidently and competently while participating in a different industry!


Where do you see yourself five years from now (Which tools and programs do you plan on using to achieve that?)


I see myself having helped 1 million Minority Women business owners (and others) do business successfully through various government initiatives. I'm also excited to launch my GovCon Development Course in July 2022, which will see me help


Did you start your business because of passion?

My passion comes from helping minority women businesses owners learn how to enter this space of GovCon. When I was a Government Contracting Officer's Representative, I often saw the same contractors bidding as the sole bidder when a contract was reserved for those with minority certifications.


Means a minority woman business owner could have won the contract had they known how to enter the industry. So I was tired of seeing many missed opportunities. Also, as a student of business and professional development, I have become aware of business gaps that we need to address in minority businesses. According to Harvard Business Review, out of the 17% of Black women businesses, only 3% of black women businesses reach maturity. We have these business issues, but we are completely missing out on an industry that has earmarked funds in set-asides. These are problems I wish to address as a liaison for businesses and a subject matter expert in Government Contracting.


How do you handle failures and setbacks?

I'm kind to myself about it. I ask for feedback about blindspots in choices. Next, I clarify the vision with my purpose, strategize, and try again with that information.


How does your business help to solve the daily problems that people face?


Doing business with the government has the potential for us to be creative and have a part in solving many of the problems we experience in the neighborhood and the nation at large. The Government maintains the streets, basically your environment, and much more. It's essential to understand it and how to participate in it and, as a byproduct, be compensated.


Learning how to develop in this industry will 10x everything about how you do business with the private sector or non-government. I'm excited to share how at The Entrepreneur Expo led by the incomparable Trish Wright!


Join this speaker and a few others to reset your mind and rebalance your business for the 6th Annual Entrepreneur Retreat on May 23, & 24, 2022 in Las Vegas. Select "Retreat" for more information

8 views0 comments
bottom of page