top of page

Festival Interview with Senobia

Updated: Aug 8, 2021

Just minutes before her being rushed on stage, Senobia took a minute apart from her friends to chop it up with The Wright Life’s Wordsmith. Here is how the conversation unfolded in Columbus, Ohio.



TWL: I am here with Senobia from Senobia & friends. What are we doing right now?


Senobia: We are currently at the Columbus Food & Wine Festival to celebrate food and wine. I’m here to perform for my foodies and winers.

TWL: Certainly. So, you are the lead vocalist. Who else do we have here with us?


Senobia: I have Jevon Chandler on Sax, Michael O’Dell on keys, and Eric Myers on drums.


TWL: Okay, so where are you guys from? And what type of moments do you have where you just shut the stage down? What does that look like?


Senobia: We’re all from the Columbus, Ohio, area. We’ve been born and bred in the music scene of Columbus.

Those moments are usually right when we kick-off. We come out strong, we set the vibes, and everybody feels our group. I ventured off to the army, where I got better at my chops, and now I’m back to perform here for a while.


TWL: Your chops? Where are you guys coming from with chops?


Senobia: I was originally born and raised off of Gospel + R&B type of vibes. I sang in church, and then I performed competitively throughout middle school, high school. I went on to become an Ohio State alumni, where I studied under their music program.


TWL: Amanda Gorman is a bright young woman much like yourself. She studied her craft throughout middle school, as well. How did her moment in the spotlight impact you? How do you plan to impact the crowd at the Columbus Food and Wine festival tonight?

Senobia: Whenever I perform, I really hope to touch the minds, hearts, and spirits of my audience, similar to what Amanda was doing when she did her poetry. So I really hope to continue with those vibes and put on a great show.


TWL: Amazing, I can't wait to see. Thank you.

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page